ALWAYS SURPRISING

I surprised when I came into this world. No one expected it, and yet here I am. I surprised my teacher in the first grade when I confronted her on different matters. I surprised my parents when they realized I like to stay until the end of a party unlike my brother who was the first to live. I surprised everyone when I told them I feel like home in Bucharest. After all home is where your heart is, right? Anyone who knows me was surprised that after more than 20 years of being afraid of dogs I took one at home. I surprised myself when, way too late, I realized that my true half was a boy I saw in the first days at the university wearing an embroidered cap. It was surprising that when I left my old working place I wasn’t hatting anyone there, although some people from that place have tried for more than seven years to push me to the edge. Some people over there are truly wonderful, and some are just sad people for which I can only feel pity because they are unable to enjoy life. I was surprised to discover I like doing something I never thought I would: teaching. And I guess it’s surprising I now move away from Bucharest back to Craiova without any regrets. Even more I could say I move with joy in my heart and peace in my soul. I will forever love Bucharest, I will constantly miss my friends over here, but I’ve learned that true friendship crosses any barrier of space and time. There is a song saying life doesn’t have a rewind button. I disagree. The rewind button doesn’t modify the record, it plays it again. And we can do that in life by pushing the memories’ button.

I am not surprising…. LIFE is surprising and that’s the beauty of it.

This entry was posted in bucharest, craiova, ganduri, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment